Photo purchased from Bigstock.com.

Should Kids Fight Back Against Bullies?

There is something to be said about a child, having been pushed in the sandbox, pushing back.

David Cutler
5 min readAug 27, 2018

--

How involved should adults get in bullying incidents?

I begin to wonder as much after reading Emily Bazelon’s brilliant new book, Sticks and Stones: Defeating the Culture of Bullying and Rediscovering the Power of Character and Empathy, which reminds me of a traumatic childhood memory.

I’m nine years old and at sleep-away camp, located in scenic Maine.

With gorgeous playing fields, state-of-the-art recreation facilities and a beautiful lake, this is an ideal location for a Hollywood movie. Inside my bunk, however, things aren’t as nice. Jonathan Bernstein is calling me names again.

“You lost us the game, you stupid little punk,” Bernstein shouts, blaming me for striking-out against a pitcher from a rival camp.

I remember Bernstein’s smug face, and how he walked like a thug, arms crossed and shorts sagging. I can best describe him as a miniature version of Eminem, despite the anachronistic comparison. Once we return to our cabin, Bernstein pushes me to the ground and kicks me while I’m down.

“Stay there,” he says, albeit with much more colorful language.

--

--

David Cutler

A high school history and journalism teacher from Massachusetts.